New and Used Car Talk Reviews Hot Cars Comparison Automotive Community

The Largest Car Forum in the Philippines

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
  1. Join Date
    Jun 2006
    What happened when you shift from d to r while moving? When i accidentallyshift my corolla that way while was moving around 20kph, the engine sunddenly died to protect itself. Had to do a full stop, turn off the key then restart again.

2. Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Quote Originally Posted by ishtangli View Post
    I'm by no means an expert but I dont think keeping it in D while stopped puts stress, if any, on the engine, unless you have bad idling. Remember, the engine will continue to rotate/combust even when you are stopped. It just doesnt connect to the drive shaft (in the case of an AT, the torque converter). Also remember, AT is designed for this.
    This method will consume more fuel.

3. Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Quote Originally Posted by Jet PAC View Post
    Thank you all for the Inputs. Actually, I just did it 3x accidentaly shifting from D to R but at decelerating speed (around 20-10kph) and while pressing on the brakes. And yes when I'm stopped by a traffic light I shift to N and apply the hand brakes because I noticed staying on D at prolonged stop still puts stress on the engine.
    Shift the transmission without pressing the knob / switch. You can shift from R-D-N-D-2-1-2-N without pressing the switch. You need to press the switch to go from D to R to P.

4. Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Quote Originally Posted by Walter View Post
    Shift the transmission without pressing the knob / switch. You can shift from R-D-N-D-2-1-2-N without pressing the switch. You need to press the switch to go from D to R to P.