New and Used Car Talk Reviews Hot Cars Comparison Automotive Community

The Largest Car Forum in the Philippines

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
  1. Join Date
    Jan 2008
    I'm a newbie AT owner. Been driving a MT since 1998. In an AT, if I press on the brakes with the vehicle still in motion, I normally return from D to N in preparation to stop. Now the problem is, I sometimes overshift to R but with my feet still pressing on the brakes. Will this damage my transmission? In comparison to a MT where you hear a craking sound if you mistakenly shift gear, at least I haven't heard of any. Correct me if I am wrong. In an AT, if I press on the brakes, this is also equivalent to pressing on the clutch in the case of an MT, wherein the effect is the gears are temporarily disengaged?

2. Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Short answer: You don't need to shift to N from D when approaching or preparing for a stop. Just brake to slow the car down, then brake to a complete stop. Depending on whether you're in a stop, you can stay in D if it will be a short one... or shift to N or P if it's going to be long.

3. Join Date
    Mar 2009
    ^ IMO, unless you're really PARKED, it is normally safer to just put the gear on N then apply handbrake on traffic. When I use AT cars, I don't put the gear on P during traffic cause of the risk that it passes through R to and fro D.

4. Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Quote Originally Posted by Jet PAC View Post