New and Used Car Talk Reviews Hot Cars Comparison Automotive Community

The Largest Car Forum in the Philippines

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
  1. Join Date
    May 2009
    Hi Guys,

I'm newbie here and I need advice regarding the 2nd hand car I bought a month ago. I bought a Honda SiR 00 to a guy who guaranteed me that the car is in good running condition except that the radiator needs to be replaced dahil nagbabawas na ng tubig and tires are thin nadin. That was the only two probs that the owner advised me to replaced and wala na ako magiging problem sa car. So what I did first was to buy four new tires for the SiR so I can travel the car to Baguio and a week after, the radiator was replaced too. I thought wala ng magiging problem sa car but when I use it, I notice na may maingay sa engine kapag tinatapakan yung accelerator. I consulted my brother about this and he advised me to bring the car sa Honda Service Center for tune up.

We we're shocked when the Honda mechanics told us that the car needs general overhaul and I asked for a quote on how much I need to spend to get the car fixed. They handed me a coupon bond, written there are the parts that need to be replaced and the price. The total price was P127,512.00 . So hindi na tune up yung auto ko but instead pinalitan lang ng sparkplug.

I'm planning to get a 2nd opinion from other mechanics so I'd know the real condition of the car and the problem sa car. I just have few questions in mind..

1. Are the honda mechanics really reliable when they say the condition of the car?

2. Where can I go for 2nd opinion na magaling sa pagaayos ng SiR?

3. My uncle happens to be a mechanic and he just advised me to buy a surplus cylinder head. How much po kaya surplus nito and saan ako makakabili?