New and Used Car Talk Reviews Hot Cars Comparison Automotive Community

The Largest Car Forum in the Philippines

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. Join Date
    Nov 2010
    my friend once told me about saving gas while cruising in neutral in his M/T civic vti.
    i'm quite skeptical about this, co'z i have very little knowledge about M/T.
    i don't know if this can damage the car's engine or it will just lead to higher FC.
    i'm now driving a 2000 honda civic lxi M/T for a month now from a ten year A/T driving experience with a 98corolla gli.

does this driving habit really saves gas?

2. Join Date
    Sep 2004
    I think your friend is right. Your car engine's running RPM is at its lowest while in Neutral - naka-idle kasi, so less fuel pumped.
    Yan yung ginagawa madalas ng mga PUV drivers natin to save on fuel.
    I do this too, sometimes (glide lang: hehe, guilty).
    Pero it's not safe, especially in emergencies when you need to urgently step on your brakes or on downhill roads.

3. Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Yes its true, one of the most effective techniques used in various economy challenges conducted here ... It wont damage your engine since there's no strain or load when in neutral

4. Join Date
    Oct 2010
    ayan din ang alam ko. pag M/T ok lng.. pero pag A/T ok lng ba na biglang mag neutral?

5. Join Date
    May 2010
    helps cool down the engine too

6. Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Quote Originally Posted by oldboy View Post
    my friend once told me about saving gas while cruising in neutral in his M/T civic vti.
    i don't know if this can damage the car's engine or it will just lead to higher FC.
    i'm now driving a 2000 honda civic lxi M/T for a month now from a ten year A/T driving experience with a 98corolla gli.

Cruising in neutral or coasting can save fuel by minimizing the amount of fuel the car uses as it moves. I used to do this when I drove a M/T car, accelerate to a certain speed then coast the car. Great when traffic is low.