New and Used Car Talk Reviews Hot Cars Comparison Automotive Community

The Largest Car Forum in the Philippines

1. Join Date
    Feb 2005
    I am getting a Fort which is arriving early next month. I have been driving an MT for the past 8 years and I have never driven an AT. Please help in giving me step-by step instructions on how to drive an AT and do include tips. Thank you and looking forward to your responses.

2. Join Date
    Oct 2002
    hmmmmm. halos pareho lang din naman sa driving style. para ka lang naglalaro but the thing is yung sa brake. be sure na right foot pa rin gagamitin kasi una kong gamit left ginamt ko at ang lakas ng pagkakaapak ko. hahaha

3. Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Basic tips.

1. Always step on the brake when shifting from P to any other gear. Some cars wont even allow you to shift without steping on the brake pedal.
    2. Normal driving, just shift to D and you are set.
    3. P = park. Always set to P when you park the car. Dont use this gear when stuck in traffic. Better to put in N or neutral and set hand brake. BTW, most modern AT wont start if you are not in P or N.
    4. R = reverse.
    5. N = neutral
    6. D is drive. AT will shift between 1st to 3rd or 4th gear as needed.
    7. 3 means your AT will shift from 1st to 3rd gear only.
    8. 2 means your AT will only shift between 1st and 2nd gear. Useful when climbing hills and engine braking while going down hill.
    9. L or 1 = 1st gear only.
    10. OD or overdrive. on cars equipped with OD, keep it on while driving. It will give you better FC. When you need more power, like overtaking or going uphill, turn it off and you will get more power. Its kinda like a final gear on ATs.
    11. You can make an AT shift by using the gas pedal. Flooring it will make you downshift. A quick step and release will make you upshift.