New and Used Car Talk Reviews Hot Cars Comparison Automotive Community

The Largest Car Forum in the Philippines

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Most of the time I only use my 2016 Fortuner in the city and only on few occasions I use it to go to province. Now since city driving is what I am used to, there were some occasions where going to the province ang cruising around 100kl/h, I forgot to turn off the engine only after 5 mins or so and instead turned it off immediately. Would this destroy my engine?

I would say that before I reach the destination and turn off the engine, I would slow down (but still running around 30-40kl/h) for about 20-15mins or so... would that be any consolation and consider the engine as having cooled off during that slow down?

I am a noob here...

2. Join Date
    May 2009
    Quote Originally Posted by attyallanlatras View Post
    Most of the time I only use my 2016 Fortuner in the city and only on few occasions I use it to go to province. Now since city driving is what I am used to, there were some occasions where going to the province ang cruising around 100kl/h, I forgot to turn off the engine only after 5 mins or so and instead turned it off immediately. Would this destroy my engine?

I would say that before I reach the destination and turn off the engine, I would slow down (but still running around 30-40kl/h) for about 20-15mins or so... would that be any consolation and consider the engine as having cooled off during that slow down?

I am a noob here...
    After a long drive at high speeds, I always allow my TD engine also to 'cool down' by idling even for just one minute before shutting it down. That's SOP for us. But like you atty., I drive a bit slower when almost reaching my destination so that helps also.

I've been told that the worst practice is to be always at full throttle everywhere you go even for short distances and immediately shutting down the engine. That's a big no-no for me.

HTH.