New and Used Car Talk Reviews Hot Cars Comparison Automotive Community

The Largest Car Forum in the Philippines

1. Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Good day to all....
    I noticed that when I switched gasoline from Phoenix RON98 which I have been using for the past 5 years to XCS RON 95 my vehicle's (Feroza 1600cc) idling increase from 800 rpm to 1,200 rpm without tweaking the carburetor. I thought it was just a timing adjustment so I let it be with the hope that my engine's rpm would normalize again. However after two weeks wherein I had to refill again with XCS fuel, the rpm is still high at 1,200 rpm. I tried to tweak the carburetor by adjusting the air and fuel ratio, but to no avail. With aircon on the rpm settles at 1,000 rpm when it used to be 800 rpm. Has anyone experienced this? Or perhaps I'll switch to Extra RON 93 later. I have to downgrade to RON95 because RON98 is no longer available here in our province in Quezon. TIA

2. Join Date
    Mar 2008
    i don't daihatsu. but
    a carb-ed engine should be easy to adjust for idling. there's the idling screw to turn.
    and timing should be easy to check, if one has the requisite timing light.

is it possible, na nagkataon lang? that something else is wrong, and not fuel change?

do you have idle-up circuit? maybe may electrical connection na na-tanggal?

vacuum hose still in place and not leaking? vacuum diaphragm functioning and not stuck up?

but yes. these things tend to cause a drop in rpm and not increase...

3. Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Quote Originally Posted by dr. d View Post
    i don't daihatsu. but
    a carb-ed engine should be easy to adjust for idling. there's the idling screw to turn.
    and timing should be easy to check, if one has the requisite timing light.

is it possible, na nagkataon lang? that something else is wrong, and not fuel change?

do you have idle-up circuit? maybe may electrical connection na na-tanggal?