New and Used Car Talk Reviews Hot Cars Comparison Automotive Community

The Largest Car Forum in the Philippines

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Hi guys need po your help, im a newbie in automotive.

Pansin ko kasi ang bilis tumaas ng temp gauge ko. Kalalagay po palang ng water sa reserved tank and radiator taas nanaman sya habang umaandar ako, by the time naman I stop (idle) engine still on saka pa biglang mi lumabas na usok sa hood ko.

need po your recommendation on what to do in this scenario

thanks in advance.

2. Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Quote Originally Posted by gobi View Post
    Hi guys need po your help, im a newbie in automotive.

Pansin ko kasi ang bilis tumaas ng temp gauge ko. Kalalagay po palang ng water sa reserved tank and radiator taas nanaman sya habang umaandar ako, by the time naman I stop (idle) engine still on saka pa biglang mi lumabas na usok sa hood ko.

need po your recommendation on what to do in this scenario

thanks in advance.

Smoke means an overheat condition. Its your cooling system reaching the pressure treshold and started discharging excess pressure (in the form of steam) thru the radiator cap. Try turning off the airconditioning system to kill the aux fan, if overheating gets worse it means your e-fan is not working.

Here are other possible cause of overheat:

Busted fuse/relay of the electric fan
    Defective thermoswitch - doesnot turn on the electric fan
    Thermostat stucked or not opening on OE specified temp
    Water pump not working
    You are not using a coolant. Water in the radiator should be wetter than a regular water.

If im in your shoes, id bring it to the mechanic to inspect and overhaul the entire cooling system before it do more complicated damage. After the overhaul, use the appropriate coolant to prevent corrosion. Corrosion is the most likely cause of water pump damage, incorrect thermoswitch reading, and stucked thermostat. - Or in other words, due to poor maintenance.