New and Used Car Talk Reviews Hot Cars Comparison Automotive Community

The Largest Car Forum in the Philippines

1. Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Hi guys.

I have a 1989 Toyota Corolla Small body (EE90 with 2E engine). It's my dad's car and my first. I've been driving it since 1996 (and a little bit before that when I was first learning how to drive by secretly driving the car when my dad's not around).

My car has been through a lot. It was flooded 3 times (Ondoy, Millenyo and Habagat) since our subdivision commonly floods and it still runs after some minor repairs from a local shell station that we usually go to to have her fixed. But the floods did take it's toll and rusted parts of the body that doesn't drain.

After the Habagat flooding, I had it top overhauled but the mechanic made the problems much worse (I spent almost 9K on everything).

Currently, my radiator's full of oil and water, all my spark plugs are black from burning oil especially the two end cylinders. the first cylinder from the left wets the spark plug with water and the dip stick now has water and oil mixed.

After addressing her engine problem (and others that will affect performance), hopefully I have budget to have her body repaired and painted back to stock.

Somehow the car still runs! But I don't use it anymore to prevent the problems from worsening further than it already is. I do some basic maintenance myself, but this is beyond what I am capable of fixing.

I would like to ask for your recommendation as to really good and professional auto repair shops that will give a decent affordable estimate and will not run the bill by replacing parts that are still good.

I really would appreciate the help guys, this is my last effort to have her repaired due to sentimental reasons but with a budget that will not cost high enough that I can buy a good condition 2nd hand car with the same amount.