New and Used Car Talk Reviews Hot Cars Comparison Automotive Community

The Largest Car Forum in the Philippines

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. Join Date
    May 2006
    Hi. I really need some advice please. The mechanic is a very nice person, but I just want to know if I'm taken for a ride, since I am not an expert in cars. Sorry for the length!

Three months ago, there was a weird sound coming from the front and it turned out the engine support had cracks. The mechanic replaced it and advised that since they're disassembling for that might as well replace the old clutch disk and crankshaft oil seal. We went ahead with the replacements putting in original parts. These cost us around17k, labor and parts. I test drove it for a few minutes after their work and it seemed ok.

The following day, and the succeeding days after, whenever I went over a hump (regardless if sharp high hump or low gentle), or drove through a mini pothole or there's a change in road levels, I noticed that there was a faint "metallic" sound (like a faint high pitched "hee") that would come from the front of the driver's side. It is not loud, but you'll hear it clearly and consistently when there's no one making noise inside the car. At first, I thought it might just be the bolts/nuts/new parts adjusting themselves in place, so we left it as is for a few weeks, but the problem never left.

Together with this problem, we noticed that every morning, there's a drop of oil (size of a 10-peso coin) on the floor. Not a puddle, just a drop, but noticeable enough since it has NEVER happened to this car before, and the amount is noticeable if the car is left parked for a few days straight. Again, I thought to give it some time, just in case the oil seal is just "warming up" or being conditioned to its spot, being a new seal. A few weeks later, the problem never left also.