New and Used Car Talk Reviews Hot Cars Comparison Automotive Community

The Largest Car Forum in the Philippines

Page 2 of 13 FirstFirst 12345612 ... LastLast
  1. Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Pasali po ako dito sa thread na to....although I have no significant experience yet on crdi engines because my ride has just 11k on it.

Thanks for starting this thread Sir Drey.
    Im sure this will be a very great source of information for us crdi owners.

2. Join Date
    Jun 2006
    with regards to maintenance i think its the same, i have a diesel fed mitsubishi adventure and hyundai matrix... with regards to the DIY PMS, i think anyone have the proper skills and knowledge can do it. change oil, change oil filter, change air filter, etc... how hard can it be? but for me, i just let the professional do the maintenance work, because i don't have the time to tinker with my car and i don't want my hand/clothing soiled with oil, grease and dirt... arte noh...

to each his own...

3. Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Hi 4JGtootsie,

My question to everyone is why are CRDi more powerful than conventional diesel fuel systems with the same displacement? Listed below are some re
    1. Pup2 is correct about improved fuel automization due to the extreme injection pressures. Whereas traditional diesels inject fuel at 100 - 250 bar, common rail engines may inject fuel at 1600 bar (about 23000 psi). Finer fuel particles are easier to ignite than large droplets.
    2. Since CR injectors are electronically controlled by the ECU, multiple injections may occur at one injection cycle, and injection timing can also be rapidly altered to suit various speed and load conditions.
    3. And many more.....