New and Used Car Talk Reviews Hot Cars Comparison Automotive Community

The Largest Car Forum in the Philippines

1. Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Hello bros!

Am a newbie here, and this is my first post.

I would just like to know the implication/s of having the car's engine changed without going through the transfer of ownership process first.

What steps do I have to go through to avoid any legal issues if in case I go ahead with my change engine project?

Thanks so much for your help!

More power to Tsikot!

2. Join Date
    Oct 2002
    When you register your car next year, you might be delayed coz your car's engine number on theirrecords is different from your present engine number. In this case, they will look for a " change engine" permit.

i suggest you get one para wala ng problema...gugulangan ka pa ng mga yan.
    Last edited by benchph1; March 11th, 2004 at 11:37 AM.

3. Join Date
    Oct 2002
    I don't have any first-hand experience on this but here's what I know.

1. kung binili mo yung makina from a second-hand engine dealer (like Cinco), ang alam ko dapat may import papers na ibibigay sa'yo ang vendor ng second-hand engine. this import papers indicates that the engine came in to the country thru legal channels. (tax paid, etc. etc....)

2. kung pinalitan mo na yung engine mo before your month of registration, bago mo ipa rehistro yung makina dapat ipa macro-etched (tama ba term?) mo yung engine sa LTO and present the import papers of the engine and pay all the dues required for you to have the new engine registered. As for the exact requirements, I don't know them. But definitely the LTO will ask for those import papers that the vendor gave you.

Experts, correct me if I'm wrong.

4. Join Date
    Oct 2002