New and Used Car Talk Reviews Hot Cars Comparison Automotive Community

The Largest Car Forum in the Philippines

Page 1 of 6 12345 ... LastLast
  1. Join Date
    Dec 2006
    I've seen an awful lot of people who carve careers vastly different from what they've trained in. My mother for instance, graduated BS Math but can't even solve problems regarding surfaces of revolution particularly because she's spent almost all her life in Marketing/Sales.

I'm contemplating about this because the sole reason I chose the course I'm in right now is one of economic reasons - I wanna land a good job. It's not even my passion, and it's a miracle I'm surviving without a bit of love for what I'm studying.

Economic factors are also the reason why I didn't pursue courses I'm passionate with - particularly because careers in these fields are non-existent in the Philippines, and I really don't wanna work abroad.

So, a few questions for those who have experienced more in life:

Is your college course related to the career you've built?
    Would you advise to simply follow what your heart desires instead of pursuing something that is highly regarded by others to help land a good job?
    What starting salary should I expect?

I know this post sounds 'mukhang pera', but I am not a son of parents with successful family businesses. I have no trust fund/inheritance to speak of. I've lived a childhood highly exposed to rich people, knowing I can't have what they have. Such circumstances have inevitably drilled into my head that I have to be somehow do well in life.

2. Join Date
    Feb 2008
    It did helped somewhat, in the end IMHO college education is over rated. Street smarts and money smarts is the most useful tool...

3. Join Date
    Dec 2005
    What I do in work is related to what I studied in college. Although I should admit that I am only using less than 10% of it.

11.1K:transform:

4. Join Date
    Jul 2010