New and Used Car Talk Reviews Hot Cars Comparison Automotive Community

The Largest Car Forum in the Philippines

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
  1. Join Date
    Jul 2012
    I'm new to driving (just learned and got a license three months ago) and I bought a 2012 Kia Rio last September. It's the 1.4 EX A/T Sedan model. So to emphasize, it's not the hatchback.

I've been driving it for almost three months now and my odo is almost at 2500 kms. Parang feeling ko, unusually poor ang fuel consumption niya even thought I usually drive in very heavy traffic.

I usually drive in heavy traffic, travelling from Pasig to Fort to Makati and back during the morning and evening rush. Now that it's the Christmas season, my travel looks like this:

AM travel is around 6:30am - 9:00am
    PM travel is from 6:30pm - 9:00pm

Both routes are relatively the same and 16 kilometers long. So on a daily basis, that's 32km = 5 hours of travel. Meaning 6.4kph on the average. Kung hindi Christmas season, siguro bawas ng 1 hours, so 32km = 4 hours of travel. Not much better at 8kph on the average.

Based on my last full tank, ang lumabas na fuel consumption ko is 5.96 km/L. Nung hindi Christmas season, on the average siguro 6.50 km/L ang fuel consumption ko.

Sabi nung ibang kilala ko:

(1) magiimprove pa daw yung fuel economy when my odo gets past the 4-5k mark because I'm still in the break-in period so piston rings and valves have yet to seat properly.
    (2) it could be my style of driving since I just learned how to drive recently and I might not be driving in a fuel efficient manner

Pero ano sa tingin niyo? To summarize here are the details:

Pre-Xmas Rush (Sep - Oct)
    - distance travelled per day = 32km
    - time travelled per day = 4 hours
    - avg speed = 8kph
    - fuel consumption = 6.50 km/L

Xmas Rush (Nov)
    - distance travelled per day = 32km
    - time travelled per day = 5 hours
    - avg speed = 6.4kph
    - fuel consumption = 5.96 km/L

ODO: 2500km