New and Used Car Talk Reviews Hot Cars Comparison Automotive Community

The Largest Car Forum in the Philippines

1. Join Date
    Jun 2006
    There is a very informative thread about the actual real-world average fuel consumption in this forum as well as other car forums in other countries.

While FC calculations is not an exact absolute value and there are numerous parameters and variables affecting it , I believe that taken as an average, it does provide a good reference.

When shopping for a new vehicle that still has to be released or had just been launched here in the Philippines; the only reference for FC is the published FC from the manufacturer and forum postings of actual owners in various car fora.

My question is this :
    Will there be a BIG DIFFERENCE in the average FC , for the exact same vehicle , when it is driven in the U.S. and when it is driven here in the Philippines ???

tia

2. Join Date
    Oct 2002
    I'm not an expert but I would believe that FC of the same car model will have a big difference between here and the US....factor such as traffic, weather etc...will play a major role on the consumption difference

3. Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Quote Originally Posted by bayonic View Post
    My question is this :
    Will there be a BIG DIFFERENCE in the average FC , for the exact same vehicle , when it is driven in the U.S. and when it is driven here in the Philippines ???
    yes. Especially when comparing "city" FC figures. This is from my personal experience driving in the US and here.

4. Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Definitely. The standard tests done by the EPA in the US used to be at the dynamometer machine. This means that:

1. Wind resistance and aerodynamics are not factors in these tests
    2. Inertia, mass and weight are not factors
    3. Only engine output and absolute fuel consumption are measured at constant dyno speeds
    4. Stop and go situations are not taken into consideration