New and Used Car Talk Reviews Hot Cars Comparison Automotive Community

The Largest Car Forum in the Philippines

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
  1. Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Hi, newbie here.

Is a second-hand 97 Nissan Cefiro M/T a good buy? What are the things that I need to look out for when shopping for this car? What are the common problems that owners experience? How about maintenance? I'm assuming since this is already a 10 year old car, I might need to have some things fixed.

Thanks in advance!

2. Join Date
    Oct 2004
    it is a good buy very comfy plus with the manual tranny i guess its not sluggish alam ko problem lang with the cefiro is the readitor .. check that nalang besides that alam ko this car is very reliable and sturdy

3. Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Thanks for your reply!

Do you suggest that I should have the radiator replaced once I buy the car? The stock radiator on the 97 cefiro isn't made of metal right? When our old car overheated a long time ago, we replaced the plastic(?) radiator with a metal one and it hasn't overheated since.

Any other comments about this car? I would really appreciate it

4. Join Date
    Oct 2002
    The OEM radiator is a combination of plastic and aluminum.

The top is plastic because its supposed to destroy itself in the event of an overheat (sort of like a fuse for the cooling system). Otherwise, the pressure will relieve itself at the next weakest point. Which is usually the [very expensive to replace] cylinder head gasket.

Your past overheat may not have been due to the radiator having a plastic component. It just so happens the radiator sacrificed itself to save the engine.

http://docotep.multiply.com/
    Need an Ambulance? We sell Zic Brand Oils and Lubricants. Please PM me.

5. Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Quote Originally Posted by OTEP View Post
    The OEM radiator is a combination of plastic and aluminum.