New and Used Car Talk Reviews Hot Cars Comparison Automotive Community

The Largest Car Forum in the Philippines

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Hello folks,

I need help on deciding which car to buy with my limited budget. I'm currently living in Finland and cars here have extra long life. Used cars' milage are usually 200,000 kilometers (Benz & Toyotas go up to 600k++) and up. Since I'm still a student, I need a practical car for everyday use. So, I looked for cars on the net and saw two good cars:

96 Opel Vectra, Gas, 1.6L, Manual, 176k kms mileage.

95 MB C-Class 180 W202, Gas, 1.8L, 340k kms mileage.

Both are in good condition and prices are not too far from each other. Since toyotas here are very expensive (used), the opels are my only option for a relatively new car with high mileage (2000 models with ore than 200k kms).

Ano po sa tingin nyo? Should I go for the Benz? mas practical kaya kasi matibay? Ang ganda kasi. And ang maintainance ng car dito eh super strict. hindi pwede i-register pag hindi pumasa sa mga tests at sila mismo mag-inspect at ipapaayos mo nalang ang sira.

thanks in advance!

2. Join Date
    May 2005
    Based on what I read and watch on shows, the brand name Opel is not synonymous with reliability nor dependability.

You mean you are a student driver or a student in there?

3. Join Date
    Nov 2005
    ayaw mo ng Skoda?

4. Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Ang sarap ng problema mo bro! Mas mura ang mga MB's sa mga Toyota's! Dun ka na sa MB. Napakasolid ng mga yan. Opel's are known for rather dodgy reliability. That, coupled with scanty parts supply killed it here in the Philippines. Are there no other options for you, though?

5. Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Quote Originally Posted by number001 View Post
    Based on what I read and watch on shows, the brand name Opel is not synonymous with reliability nor dependability.

You mean you are a student driver or a student in there?