New and Used Car Talk Reviews Hot Cars Comparison Automotive Community

The Largest Car Forum in the Philippines

1. Join Date
    Feb 2006
    i'm just a newbie here and need advice on which has better overall value.

I have 2 cars to choose on, assuming they are both in good condition, which is better?

99 Civic VTi vtec 1.6 MT, 80k+ km mileage or....

2000 Corolla GLi 1.6 AT, 60k+ mileage.

I hope these specs are good enough to make a good comparison. Just tell me if its lacking.

THanks!

2. Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Also, does anyone know how much these usually cost? average price lng.

Thanks ulit!

3. Join Date
    Aug 2005
    corolla na.. kita mo nman mileage nyan..

4. Join Date
    May 2005
    Of course, I have a biased opinion and I would pick the Civic EK anytime over any Corolla unless its the current Altis.

Btw, both cars, in my book, are considered high milers already. The difference in mileage between the two is negligible if the owner of the Civic performed the necessary periodic replacements and adjustments of parts such as the brake pads, drive shaft, boot rack, etc..

Civic 1.6 VTI m/t costs roughly Php 340,000 for that kind of mileage. Condition is unknown to me. The price is just a ball-park figure, alot depends on the condition, maintenance records, repairs, etc..

5. Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Thanks for the replies , from what I have perceived so far, I'm kinda leaning towards the corolla. Mostly due to 25% more mileage of the other.

But still, any comments, suggestions and advice are still welcomed.

I still have a few more days to contemplate.

6. Join Date
    Nov 2002
    I've tried a 98 Corolla GLi A/T (practically the same as your prospect except bumpers and lights) and I felt it was a little sluggish. For one thing, it has the same 4A-FE motor as the previous AE101, yet the body is heavier. Owners also complain about the tight passenger space at the back.