New and Used Car Talk Reviews Hot Cars Comparison Automotive Community

The Largest Car Forum in the Philippines

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Need your help in deciding which is the best family car. We are going to use the car 90% of the time in the city. We also like going to Batangas/Tagaytay once in a while.

Both are very close in terms of price. Both are also good in terms of looks, but I have no experience with Honda or Kia cars (Only Mitsubishi and Toyota). What we are generally looking for in a car are:

-Riding Comfort
    -Fuel Economy
    -Good After-sales service

I think value for both cars is quite good, but I still have some questions before i can decide which to choose. The CR-V's is very nice to drive and I personally like the interior, but is the 2.0 i-vtec engine as capable under a full load. I have a big family (we are 5) and most of us are on the heavy side .

I haven't test driven the Sorento (no test drive unit), but since it is diesel I believe there will be fuel savings in the long run. I am still not sure about quality, parts availability and after sales service. Hopefully, I would hear some feedback from Sorento owners on this.

Thanks for your help.

2. Join Date
    Jan 2006
    The Sorento is bigger than the CRV. The Sorento is about the same size as the Hyundai Santa Fe (both SUV's share the same platform and engine). It also has a more powerful engine and Korean CRDi engines do offer decent fuel efficiency figures. Ride comfort may be stiffer than a CRV but it is better than the ladder-frame midsize SUV's (Fortuner, Montero Sport, Everest). The Sorento drives like a big car on big wheels. My father-in-law owns a 2010 Sorento (2.4L gas, 4x4) and so far, I have not heard complaints from him with his local dealer. It would have been better if he had chosen the 2.2L CRDi model as the 2.4L gas model is not as athletic.
    Last edited by Egan101; November 30th, 2013 at 09:15 AM.

3. Join Date
    Nov 2010