New and Used Car Talk Reviews Hot Cars Comparison Automotive Community

The Largest Car Forum in the Philippines

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Help! Need your tought guys.

A Tito of mine recently is looking at both to replace his ageing Honda CR-V circa 1999. Manual diesel 7 seater (5 adults in the family 1 kid). 500-550k budget.

Looks aside of course, (he says the Alterra looks fine to him) between the two it is actually tough to recommend one. I have no first hand experience with the alterra little with the innova. The alterra is ladder frame but I hear the flex suspension is actually nice for a leaf spring set up. Isuzu fuel consumption is also a plus and also a bit more power. Toyota probably has an edge with interior space packaging and maybe even better fuel mileage than the alterra. So ayun both solid vehicles.

I'm tempted to say jist go for the best conditioned vehicle available at the right price?

Thanks.

2. Join Date
    Oct 2012
    I would go for the innova.

palit ng tint. upgrade nvh.

repair ng suspension would be easier. cheaper smaller tires. change fluids etc.

3. Join Date
    Mar 2008
    alterra is a big car.
    if he has parking space issues...

4. Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Alterra is heavier to drive than the innova. Coming from the CRV, your "tito" will feel the difference, for sure. But Alterra has better interior space and probably also better fuel mileage, so that's a plus.

Like Dr. D pointed out, if garage space is also a consideration, don't get the Alterra. My neighbor always parks his Alterra outside because of its size. Hard and too lazy to maneuver it into his cramped garage -- and his wife does not even dare to drive it in the crowded city. Will "tita" be driving it too? Then get the Innova. Just my thoughts.

5. Join Date
    Nov 2008