New and Used Car Talk Reviews Hot Cars Comparison Automotive Community

The Largest Car Forum in the Philippines

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
  1. Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Hi Tsikot community!

I'm looking to buy my first car; narrowed the choice to either a brand new or 2010/2011 1.5 Jazz or a second-hand Crosswind. I'm leaning very much toward the Jazz, I really like it and I've wanted to get one for a long time. But the Crosswind seems more practical (my fiancee has an Altis). In terms of car knowledge, I don't know much about vehicles other than how they work and how to maintain them regularly...I am no mechanic :p

- A second hand 2010/2011 1.5 Jazz in polished metal is very difficult to find; I have only seen them on sulit, etc. and the prices are still high (around 650-700k). Are those fair prices? Should I be looking elsewhere (used car dealers)? Or with those prices should I just get a new one with bank rates very low (planning to do 3 years either way)?

- How are your experiences with flooded roads? Of course the Jazz cannot take floods like a Crosswind...but do you guys absolutely avoid flooded areas or can the car go through water that is, say, a few inches to 1 foot deep? I don't live in a flooded area but of course ok din kung kaya ng car sa baha kahit konti.

- How is it as a family car? I am getting married soon and will probably have a kid in the next two years; that's why I was considering the Crosswind. The Jazz has lots of space but the Crosswind can carry way more. I don't go out of town much but we have a beachhouse in Quezon...kaya naman siguro ng Jazz ang Marikina-Infanta road no?

- Are there any other good DIESEL AUV/SUV alternatives to the Crosswind? I don't think anything else can match its ruggedness, space and power at that price point. It's not too big either...ayaw ko naman ng malalaki tulad ng Montero, etc. I don't like the Innova and the Adventure, the Sportage is too small, secondhand Tucsons and ASXs are too expensive.