New and Used Car Talk Reviews Hot Cars Comparison Automotive Community

The Largest Car Forum in the Philippines

Page 1 of 7 12345 ... LastLast
  1. Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Hi! ...newbie here, but I've been a lurker for the longest time and the posts i've been reading here are very helpful.

I need advice from fellow tsikoteers. I am planning to replace my car ('99 civic vti AT) since pump prices are getting more and more expensive right now. Currently, I'm getting about 7.8km/Li with a stop-and-go city driving with my civic.

My budget is P450k, and I'm thinking of getting a Getz 1.1 GL, but somehow, I am still having reservations on buying a Korean car (regards to resale value, maintenance, etc). I'm thinking if it is worth it to add a couple of thousands more to get a Vios J? If possible, I don't want to significantly stretch my budget (450k plus/minus 10k lang sana) so I'm leaning towards the 1.1 Getz, but I'm thinking that the Getz might not be worth it in the long run (I plan to keep the car for about 5-6 years only).

Hope to get some inputs from fellow tsikoteers on the following:
    1) fuel comsumption of 1.1 Getz and 1.3 Vios on a stop-and-go city driving.
    2) how much discount can you get these cars from the dealers right now? (1.1 Getz SRP: P468k, 1.3 Vios J: P553k)
    3) features (or lack thereof ) and ride comfort comparisons
    4) any input with regards to resale value and maintenace of Korean cars

...I was thinking also of a 2nd hand Jazz i-dsi CVT, but it doesn't seem to fit in my P450k budget, and I don't want to add to my P450k budget if it is for a 2nd hand car.

need help. Thanks!

2. Join Date
    May 2004
    I'm not a vios fan and neither do i like one. But I read in an article yesterday.. inquirer or star yata. vios 1.3 j wins in terms of fuel economy vs gets 1.1 and honda 1.3

imo, i'd rather go for the vios since it has higher resale value and economy. Mas pogi pa set up.

3. Join Date
    Aug 2004