New and Used Car Talk Reviews Hot Cars Comparison Automotive Community

The Largest Car Forum in the Philippines

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. Join Date
    Jun 2012
    I'm a new driver, just learned to drive weeks ago and I'm about to buy my 1st car. And as expected i know nothing about cars! I'm considering to buy a Toyota since i have a friend who works for them and I might be able to score a discount. I want unbiased opinion though. My main consideration is fuel efficiency coz if it's not that different between the two, i'd go for the yaris, just so I don't look like everyone else.

2. Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Looking like everyone else has its advantages too. IMHO Fuel efficiency is a very subjective issue, because it is in part dependent to how you as the driver, operate/drive your vehicle.

Vios or Yaris? We have a 2010 1.3E AT in the garage, apart from being the only Toyota in the household, it serves as the daily run-about of my wife. Yes, it does have a number of shortcomings, like the aforementioned seats, etc. etc. But it can also carry 4 grown adults and all of their luggage (in the trunk), three pushcarts worth of groceries, carry boxes of floortiles, and other assorted things. And that rev-happy 1.3 litre engine is not complaining.

Yes, our Vios is a workhorse. I've already replaced its smallish 175/65 series tyres with 185/70's, if just to gain added riding height, in time for the rainy season (floods).

The Yaris looks good, and considering that its powered by a 1.5 litre engine, should be quite zippy too. I can only imagine that ergonomics wise, it would be on a similar level with the Vios. Your thread sounds like you're already decided on the Yaris. But before you sign the dotted line, I suggest;

1. You take both cars/models for a test drive.
    2. Consider your future requirements/needs. (starting a family perhaps? load requirements, practicality)
    3. Re-saleability. (A Vios is much more easier to "re-sell", than a Yaris, IMHO)