New and Used Car Talk Reviews Hot Cars Comparison Automotive Community

The Largest Car Forum in the Philippines

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
  1. Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Hi! I'm thinking of buying my first car. I'm a first time driver (have yet to go to driving school) and will be getting it through the car facility program of my company. The limit is P660k and if I'm getting a unit na beyond that ang price, max. contribution ko is an additional P120k, but let's please limit the budget to P700k.

Considerations are the ff:
    Budget - P700k max (sana)
    Driver - first time, lady driver
    Tranny - super preferably A/T
    Passengers - most of the time i'll be alone but would bring my mom & 2 siblings with me from time to time
    Usual route - around Metro Manila (lagi kasi ginagabi from the office), and going home to the province (via nlex/sctex) monthly

My Options:
    1. brand new Nissan Sentra 1.3 GX A/T
    PRO: well within budget, A/T pa and it has a bigger body (good for my not so petite family :D); i think i prefer the more classic look
    CON: my only worry is baka bitin sa power, but it's not like kaya ko magpatakbo ng mabilis so baka ok na din? and the negative perception of the public for Nissan

2. Honday City, ung base model na 1.3 M/T
    PRO: well, honda cia... and porma? haha! plus the other features na wala dun sa sentra
    CON: not sure din, kasi mukha ciang transformer (nyarks). i think after a year magsasawa ako sa look nia. i'm compromising my high preference for a/t

3. Second hand Civic a/t (around 2006 or 2007)
    PRO: well, it's a Honda... and Civic na cia...
    CON: 2nd hand, mejo kinakabahan ako kasi first time lady driver at mejo paranoid ako na itirik ako ng isang 2nd hand unit

Di ko po talaga maciadong trip ang Vios kasi ang dami na nia sa daan (and the City malapit na din maging ganun).

So.. SHOULD I GO FOR BRAND NEW OR 2ND HAND? WHAT UNIT WILL BE GOOD FOR ME?

THANKS IN ADVANCE! APPRECIATE YOUR FEEDBACK.

2. Join Date