New and Used Car Talk Reviews Hot Cars Comparison Automotive Community

The Largest Car Forum in the Philippines

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
  1. Join Date
    Jun 2005
    hi! a newbie here wanting to know how does one arrive at a fair market value of a car. Say a 2004 CRV bought at 1.3M, how much would be its market value a year after? Is there a standard formula for depreciation that is used by insurers and banks to determine it? thanks a lot!!

2. Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Wala yatang standard formula. Estimate-estimate lang yan, tsaka it depends sa model/make, mileage and overall condition of the car. Example, American and Korean brands have lower resale value compared to their Japanese counterparts.

Though, most people just do it the easy way. Consult the local ads.

In rare cases, some vehicles even appreciate. Like when taxes get jacked up and the prices soar (remember a few years ago, the 'excise tax').

3. Join Date
    Aug 2004
    You can consider at least a 20% depreciation for the first year or two for almost any car. So that SHOULD put the CR-V at 1.1million.

The net depreciation for Honda and Toyota over 5 years or more, though, is very VERY low. Take for example, the VTi, which is still selling for 40% the original price for a 1997 model, meaning a net depreciation of only 8% per year. Whereas Nissans depreciate at 11% or so and Ford Lynxes at around 12+% per year over five years.

The 1st gen City's depreciation is silly. Only about a 7% drop per year for Type Zs. (At least according to asking price). But true value for those cars is much lower than the owners are actually asking for them (should be 50k or more less than the asking price). This is just based on ads. Actual vehicle value for Toyotas and Hondas should be around 20-50k lower than in the ads, while for Nissans, Fords, etc., around 25k.