New and Used Car Talk Reviews Hot Cars Comparison Automotive Community

The Largest Car Forum in the Philippines

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
  1. Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Hey guys,

I need your help. I am a newbie when it comes to cars. I never had a car before and right now I am planning to buy a 2nd hand car. What should I keep in mind when buying 2nd hand cars? My budget is between P100,000 to P150,000 only. I hope you can help me. Thanks a lot.;)

2. Join Date
    Oct 2002
    ae92 or if you're lucky, ae101 corollas ang mabibili mo... pwede rin mga lancer itlog

3. Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Factors.... Interior, Exterior and Engine. You should really scrutinize the car youre buying... once youve chosen a model of course.

4. Join Date
    Oct 2002
    For starters, you could edit the size to smaller fonts. We are not that old enough yet to notice it.

Entry level models will be your choices, Lancer, Corolla or Sentra. Most of them should be in their 7-9 year of service. Don't bother to look at the odometer reading, most 2nd hand vehicles sold are probably tricked. Check for emmissions, this is probably the good source to see if engine is still fine. Interior wise, sterring wheel and shift knob check, shiny leather or plastics indicate excessive use. Driver seat inspection also is a give-away, you can easily compare if the seats have sagged comparing it with the passenger seat.

5. Join Date
    Aug 2003
    some hints pa (from a first-time, 2nd-hand car owner)

1) reserve 20k or 30k (better!) for repairs and maintenance; yes i know masakit ito pero walang magawa; if you max out your budget to buy a car tapos it's broken somewhere.. iyak ka when you can't use it

2) better to stick to cars with cheap parts, like toyotas and mitsu's

3) siguro mas OK ang carb-type na engine. EFI cars tend to have expensive diseases, pag nasira computer or some sensors, it will put you in the poorhouse (example: a new distributor/ignitor module for my car costs 25k)