New and Used Car Talk Reviews Hot Cars Comparison Automotive Community

The Largest Car Forum in the Philippines

Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast
  1. Join Date
    Dec 2016
    im planning to buy my first car.
    I previously drive a toyota corolla lovelife. so i am an experienced driver already

but i am torn between buying a relatively new car (repo or 2nd hand dealer) and a brand new car.

Q: is it better to buy an old car on a higher line up or to buy a car in a lower line up
    EX: CIVIC 2013 or HONDA CITY 2018

Note: I can only afford to have it financed so yan ang dillema ko

Advantages (for me)
    -the CIVIC cost less, is bigger and has a more powerful engine, and only 28K+ mileage
    -the CITY is new so that's that.

salamat po sa sasagot

2. Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Interest rates for used cars are much higher ...

3. Join Date
    Jan 2006
    The Civic is not a midsize sedan. It is a compact sedan while the City is a subcompact sedan.

If you are very sure of the history of the Civic, I would take it over a new City. It is bigger and better to drive plus fuel consumption and maintenance is not that far off from a City. However, I would suggest that you buy a used car in cash rather than loan it. If you have doubts on its history, walk away and find another one.

If you can spare a bit more, I would suggest that you buy a brand new Civic instead. You will have to loan either way if you buy a new City also. The City is a good appliance car - nothing fancy, so-so performance, decent fuel consumption, ease of maintenance, and it can get you from point A to B just like a Civic could. However, a Civic is much better car overall.

4. Join Date
    Dec 2017
    I totally agree on this, it is better to buy a second hand car in cash. Sooner or later, you'll have something to fix it. That may mess up your budget.