New and Used Car Talk Reviews Hot Cars Comparison Automotive Community

The Largest Car Forum in the Philippines

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
  1. Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Hello, everyone.

Hoping to hear your opinion on this matter. We are in the market for a used SUV/CUV, 2016 year model and up. Budget is 900k.
    Intended to be used as a family hauler /daily driver -around 4x a week commute. Mostly city driving. Planning to keep it for 5 years or more. Main focus are reliability and ease of maintenance.

Narrowed down our options to the following:
    2016 Everest -is it true that Ford is not reliable? I've been around Japanese cars all my life, I have this thinking that American brands are difficult to maintain and get parts for, is that true?
    2016 CX5 -Is it easy to get parts outside casa? Mazda is known for it's reliability, but I have zero experience with Mazda
    2016 CRV -This is actually on top of our list. Resell value is unmatched.

Special mentions:
    Subaru XV -interior is superb. AWD system is one of the best in the world! but parts can be expensive. also no experience with Subaru, so...
    Forester -I've heard there was a world wide recall for valve springs? This was actually one of my top choice kasi mas mura sa Honda
    Rav4 -Just don't like how it looks. lol.
    Fortuner -We have a 2011 model. Pass muna siguro, unless new look (2016) -outside budget

I'd value your inputs. Looking forward to hear from you all!

Stay healthy and safe.
    Cheers!

2. Join Date
    Oct 2012
    The Everest is made in thailand/vietnam. Its not american. It was heavily developed in australia for asian markets and nearby. 2.2 engine is not too strong so the 6sp automatic transmission isnt bad. Suspension and steering do not have too many complaints.

Majority of complaints: lugs nuts, climate contol valve and the door handle.

3. Join Date
    Dec 2006
    If CRV is your top choice, would recommend to look deeper into the Forester especially the XT.