New and Used Car Talk Reviews Hot Cars Comparison Automotive Community

The Largest Car Forum in the Philippines

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
  1. Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Hi guys, I'm using a 1995 Lancer GLXI, and I just changed my head unit to the Pioneer 3250 model. I paid Jeff a visit earlier and also tried reading the other threads about seps, but I'm still confused. (I want to upgrade step by step, since I'm still in 1st year college. Hehe.)

My budget is around 3-5k for the seps, and Jeff suggested that I get the Morel Maximo, which is 5.5k. Has anyone tried these seps already? I haven't seen a single review of this online...

If these are no good, what would the best alternatives be? TIA guys!

2. Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Err, a bit lazy with rephrasing the same lines so I'd do a copy-paste rather.

Quote Originally Posted by jhnkvn View Post

For speakers: Hindi naman ako particular sa mga brands. But you're in safe hands sa mga reputable brands. Rather than the pang-masa Pioneers, step up into the likes of Morels, DLS, Focal kung kaya.. etc.

MB Quartz used to make competitive speakers, hangang ngayon okay parin sila but over the years.. their sales lagged. Plus, meron sila mga issues dati regarding quality. And so, I'll avoid them unless malaki yun discount nila (parang dati nagka-sale yun Mickey's AutoSounds ng Quartz..)

Morels take 2nd place. I like their tonal quality but their highs might leave you a bit dazed. Madami umaagal that they're too "bright"

DLS is a rising competitor to Focal. Madami na rin nagconvert to DLS especially after hearing their UP6

Focal still remains the industry leader IMO and their brand name alones carry some value . Probably biased lang cguro ako since I was spoiled with their PolyKevlar lineup...

Verdict: I think you should first "hear" them. Mga ibang tao ayaw sa morel due to their treble range, but I'm pretty fine with it. Magpa-audition ka muna kamo since iba iba taste natin.

So, for me:

Top-Tier: Focal, DLS