New and Used Car Talk Reviews Hot Cars Comparison Automotive Community

The Largest Car Forum in the Philippines

1. Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Good day tsikoteers!

I am a newbie with regard to audio system set-ups. My questions are these:

(Note: preferably the opera music "Nessun Dorma" would be used as benchmark for sound quality)

1. Can the stock audio unit of a Civic FD produce fine sound quality by merely replacing all the speakers, sound deadening on the doors and adding a tweeter or a single A-pillar speaker (? ) on both sides?

2. Speaker brands from Focal, JL Audio, Kicker, Pioneer, JBL are being considered. What would be your recommendation based on the above mentioned "test music"? (If you call it that )

3. If maintaining the stock audio unit of the FD is feasible, what would be rough cost estimate for this set-up?

4. Any recommended shop in the QC or San Juan area that can do this?

Thanks in advance! Much appreciated! :please::thankyou:

2. Join Date
    Dec 2007
    One of the worst oem head units you will ever encounter is found on the civic FD. The features, specifications are worst than the cheapest alpine or pioneer head units on our market.

Palitan mo muna yun stock oem head unit and proceed with your plans.

To give you an idea on the possible expenses:
    1. Aftermarket radio panel is around 2,500 - 3,500
    2. You need around 5 sheets of deadening material to cover the inner & outer shell of the two front doors. Depending on which type or brand of deadening sheet you use will set you around 200-900 per sheet.
    3. After market head unit, depends on what features you are after for.
    4. Speakers - depends on your budget.
    5. External gears like amplifiers, subs, wires etc. will be another story.

3. Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Been there, done that.