New and Used Car Talk Reviews Hot Cars Comparison Automotive Community

The Largest Car Forum in the Philippines

Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
  1. Join Date
    Oct 2002
    > what's this? a bmw-bashing thread?

no this is not a BMW-bashing thread. it's an iDrive mistakes expose.

> you don't have any right to give judgement to what bmw has created and tried to
    > achieve.

i'm a BMW fan myself, but you'll have to realize the iDrive videos are really quite funny
    in a sick sort of way. not everyone subscribes to machiavellian criticism, and your
    reasoning is seriously flawed by implying that discussing product reviews borders on
    the criminal.

2. Join Date
    Oct 2002
    OT: this isn't to meant to offend BMW or iDrive, but we all know interface design is a touchy subject. as a software developer, i run into that sort of problem all the time.

what is simple and easy to use for some isn't necessarily so for others. in the case of the iDrive, the biggest flaws i can see are:

1. menu depth: many common features are nested deep in the menu tree and requires going down several levels.

2. feedback: you have to take your eyes of the windshield to get feedback. very bad, especially combined with #1.

3. it's not intuitive: one big knob is nice, but people like to know what they are doing based on touch. in computers, well-designed icons let you tell what a program is for before you even read its name. in cars, the a/c switch feels different from the radio, and the wiper, etc. the iDrive provides no tactile feedback and requires you to look at the screen.

3. Join Date
    Oct 2002
    it's a same to see otep rivera, who i know is a mercedes fan, took this opportunity to knock off bmw.
    Hindi naman ako Benz fan. Ang gusto ko lang na Benz ay iyong galing Korea kasi mura. Sana may BMW din na made in Korea. hehehe.