New and Used Car Talk Reviews Hot Cars Comparison Automotive Community

The Largest Car Forum in the Philippines

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
  1. Join Date
    May 2012
    Good day sirs/maams

I just bought this car brand new just last Thursday from Kalookan Branch, when I popped the hood at home, I saw these.. Im a newbie with cars, so can anyone please tell me if this is normal or should I get my unit replaced.

Here is the link to the pics
    rust | Facebook

2. Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Bro better bring back the car and ask for replacement on the rust part. You bought a brand new unit and not a second hand. Claim the warranty

3. Join Date
    Jan 2007
    hmm. normally na rurust naman talaga yan exhaust manifold kasi iron ata yan pero bakit parang it looks like it came from a ten year old car

4. Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Quote Originally Posted by Rev01veR View Post
    Good day sirs/maams

I just bought this car brand new just last Thursday from Kalookan Branch, when I popped the hood at home, I saw these.. Im a newbie with cars, so can anyone please tell me if this is normal or should I get my unit replaced.

Here is the link to the pics
    rust | Facebook
    Although you can try claiming warranty as mentioned by "Revo", I doubt if they would replace it since rust of this particular part (exhaust manifold) is expected.

5. Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Quote Originally Posted by jaymd View Post
    hmm. normally na rurust naman talaga yan exhaust manifold kasi iron ata yan pero bakit parang it looks like it came from a ten year old car
    It's just surface rust.

My main guess, the car was in storage for a while so it was dirty. Before it was delivered, the dealer had it cleaned including the engine bay. They used a pressure washer but did not dry the engine that well, leaving some water on the exhaust manifold which resulted in the rust stains when it later dried.

6. Join Date
    Sep 2003
    masyado ka atang na-excite sa swift mo.