New and Used Car Talk Reviews Hot Cars Comparison Automotive Community

The Largest Car Forum in the Philippines

1. Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Ei i'm a newbie here in tsikot, i would like to ask if there's a forum between terrano vs cr-v?If none, my mom plans to buy a 2nd hand suv and he lets me seek what suv we're going to buy. My mom wants a cr-v but when i found the review it looks like the cr-v is not worth when it comes to FC. While the terrano based on what i read is much better comapre to cr-v and other suvs'. Can you help which one should we buy?Currently we have an old school 1992 Pajero. Hope you can help.

2. Join Date
    Nov 2002
    welcome to tsikot

your predicament is not unique. i've had the same before and we chose the local diesel terrano (over the crv, rav4 and auvs). these are what i considered:

1. bahain sa amin at hindi masyado maganda ang daan. so we needed the ride height and 'flood-capability'.

2. we didn't need the extra seats so di kami nag full sized suv or auv. so a 5-seat 'mini'-suv would suffice.

3. suv and good FC are not synonymous. the only alternative would be gas-converted to lpg or diesel. i prefer to keep the engine stock so i wanted diesel.

4. the 4x4 system is just a plus but it would be nice to have it just in case i decided go into trailing hehe. (maybe not much use to your mom though)

so the terrano fit into my criteria kaya yun ang kinuha namin (well, sa no.3 obvious na sya kasi walang diesel ang crv or rav4). as we used it, these are what we like about it:

1. ride quality. its soft yet stable. hindi matagtag.
    2. driveability. though mukha syang malaki at macho, it's really not that hard to drive or navigate through tight places. parang pang-kotse ang turning radius. i've seen a grandma driving one.
    3. the fold-flat seats. we've used it a few times na to load long appliances and furniture.
    4. FC is relatively good at 8-9 kms/l in city and 10-11 kms/l in highway
    5. lamig ng aircon.