New and Used Car Talk Reviews Hot Cars Comparison Automotive Community

The Largest Car Forum in the Philippines

1. Join Date
    Mar 2008
    I've had no reliability issues on the past 4-speed AT of the 9th generation Corolla. My dilemma right now is whether to choose the 11th generation 1.6G manual transmission or the CVT. I'm leaning more towards the clutchless drive but I don't mind driving a stick although I would prefer a more relaxed passive driving.

I'm not an expert on the subject matter regarding CVTs. Is the 2015 Corolla CVT reliable? I've heard it's much more expensive to repair this transmission than a standard automatic transmission and obviously a manual transmission.

Would a CVT prolong an engine's life granting that the RPM and change in "gears" are precisely computer controlled as compared to a manual transmission where there is a possibility of the operator experiencing the "namatayan ng makina dahil masyadong mabilis pag release ng clutch" scenarios?

How much more reliable is the manual transmission as compared to a CVT?

I need good input or opinion on this.

2. Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Properly maintained it can last 300k.

Its belt is the weak point, if owner doesnt take care of cvt fluid changes, irreversible damage happens. Costly repair too.

3. Join Date
    Oct 2002
    ^Are the current CVTs belt or chain driven already?

I agree to go with the CVT. It boils down to proper maintenance (change the fluids as prescribed or even more often), and proper use (shift between the gears smoothly and don't gun the engine while you're still shifting between gears such as R and D (I noticed some people in a rush have a habit of shifting fast then accelerating while the gears are still in transition from reverse to forward motion).

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

^Are the current CVTs belt or chain driven already?