New and Used Car Talk Reviews Hot Cars Comparison Automotive Community

The Largest Car Forum in the Philippines

1. Join Date
    Sep 2011
    I've been wanting to have my own car since last year (could've gotten one last year but I didn't look for work after I graduated) Anyway, I've been eyeing on a Lancer EX GLX. Other choices would be Atlis, Elantra, Vios(my Mom's choice but upon seeing the Lancer in the Flesh, she didn't mention anything about the Vios anymore) Focus and Mazda 3 but for some reason or another all had been crossed out. Used cars are also not an option since I don't want the hassle that comes with it.

why I like the Lancer EX 1.6 GLX
    - Looks
    - MT
    - Relatively good FC
    - Doesn't have any major issues (thought there is an ABS problem in the 2.0 models, the 1.6 hasn't got one yet too young i guess)
    - Not that expensive

So my parents would pay for the (at least) 40% DP, hoping for 50% haha. I will pay for the monthly amortization and I can probably pay around 10k at most. That would give me a monthly payment of around 8K *40% DP 5 years. For the other car expenses, I think we can work things out so my main concern is the monthly amort.

Anyway, do you guys think that it's wise for me to own a car? Is it better to have a 3 year term? The difference of the total interest between a 3 year and 5 year term would be around 50k+ btw

Thanks in advance guys!

2. Join Date
    Mar 2009
    If you can shoulder 10k/month for the car's monthly amortization alone without cutting off on basic necessities, then I think you can own a car.

Why emphasize alone? Well, put in mind that the dues you're paying for the car doesn't stop on the monthly amort., it goes on... maintenance every 5000Km, annual insurance fees, gas cost, yearly registration (your problem after 3 years) and possible repairs here & there..