Page 5 of 14 FirstFirst 123456789 ... LastLast

Default Re: DIY EngineHoodCover(under)

[quote=mbeige;1090077
    What did you want to know about the liquid insulators? I'm not an expert on that though, but I can look up resources online [/quote]I think this is the easiest way and probably most economical to insulate our Avanzas. My observation with the Avanza J, I find the cabin very noisy when cruising at high speed on slightly rough road and It was annoying, that's why I'm thinking of putting some insulators.

Marfin was the one who spearheaded this insulators but its more of a heat insulators. I'm still waiting for a concrete result because they're saying that they have reduced the noise somehow by putting these heat insulators.

I saw this liquid insulator from my previous ride honda city (also an economical car) underneath my carpet I'm pretty sure it's for sound deadening because it's inside the cabin, if it is undercoating it should be outside the vehicle. Maybe this is the solution to reduce the noise level.

Btw, I'm still happy with my car for being fuel efficient, especially nowadays we have this non stop oil price hike.

Keep on posting, it really helps us a lot.

You might want to invest some money into insulating the transmission tunnel that runs to the rear of the cabin, that part can also be a major source of noise. The doors of most cars today have really thin sheetmetal, so adding some form of insulation also helps there (sound insulation). Since sound waves carry some energy, insulators can also dampen heat and sound at the same time.

The hood pad I installed on my car is there to primarily dampen engine noise, engine heat as well as keep the heat in to facilitate good operating temperatures and making it more fuel efficient. Although it may seem negligible, the material becomes handy in the long run. There won't be any immediate effects but if you measure the cabin or engine noise before and after, you should see some sort of difference.