New and Used Car Talk Reviews Hot Cars Comparison Automotive Community

The Largest Car Forum in the Philippines

1. Join Date
    Feb 2012
    HALLO!

I'm planning to upgrade the clutch on my 3S-GE and I'm choosing between a normal facing and metal facing clutch. The stock one in the unit doesn't react well and starts to slide already.

My inquiry is about these metal clutches, Are they loud inside the cabin? are carbon ones loud as well?

The clutch in question is the orc 309 single plate metal clutch. if they're so loud that it's too unbearable in every day driving I might opt for "sporty" less expensive exedy ones instead.

I've heard that lightweight flywheels are really noisy as hell, so I'm not gonna upgrade to that.

Help and advice please! first time touching the transmission in my current and even my past cars. So im a total noob
    I'm expecting these clutches makes it harder to put the car in gear and more prone to misshifts, So kelangan ng praktis.

2. Join Date
    Mar 2012
    I have a Exedy Stage 1 and Fidanza 7.5 lbs flywheel on my modified 2zz-ge. No noises so far and no problems getting into gear (6 speed). My clutch effort is like OEM with the purchase of a Speed Source extended push rod. You might want to check if one is available for your car.

Fidanza makes probably the lightest flywheel out in the market. I rarely see any complaints of noise, but more of people being afraid of drive ability in traffic. You'll learn how to drive all over again, more revs to get going from a stop and faster gear changes is a must. The RPM's climb and fall so quickly, so the car will buck if driven in a relaxed manner when changing gears.

3. Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Thanks! Got couple more questions!

does clutch effort largely depend on fly wheel or clutch kit?

Is it necessary to change the fly wheel as well when upgrading the clutch? or does it depend on how hardcore you want your car to be?