New and Used Car Talk Reviews Hot Cars Comparison Automotive Community

The Largest Car Forum in the Philippines

1. Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Got an early birthday gift from my tita - a 95 Corolla XL. Runs fine, aircon is cold, brakes work great. Only 2 things I worry about:

1) it's an Ondoy survivor.

2) It hasn't been repainted, I think, ever since my tita got it.

Because it's an Ondoy survivor, some of the electronics don't work. The ceiling light (dome light ba yon? Told you I was a noob) is dead, and so's the stereo. Yesterday when I was driving to Makati the signal lights stopped working; they were working fine when I got the car last Sunday.

The engine, like I said, runs smoothly naman, but I notice it has a greater-than-usual tendency to stall when the engine is idling. I don't know if I should be worried about that.

About the paint job - I just think it needs one. There aren't any major dents, just dings and scratches in some parts. I think the paint is starting to weather - on the hood and on the roof, some patches are starting to appear, although generally the car looks like a used silver Corolla that hasn't been in any major incidents.

So my basic question is: what do I do now?

I don't know if I should be going to any talyer to have the car looked over, and I don't know which talyer to turn to in the first place. I live on Tandang Sora, and there's a Servitek on Congressional/Visayas that seems to have gotten good reviews on Tsikot Forums, but what do I tell them when I drive the car there? "Hey, could you just look this over for problems? kthxbye."

And how does the paint thing work for a car like mine, with dings and scratches? Hilamos na lang ba sya? Is there, like, a service package somewhere that will take care of those dings and dents before the paint is applied? And will I have to file paperwork with the TMG if I decide to paint it a different color?

Any advice would be much appreciated!

2. Join Date
    Feb 2008