New and Used Car Talk Reviews Hot Cars Comparison Automotive Community

The Largest Car Forum in the Philippines

1. Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Hello Tsikoteers! Newbie here and planning to buy my 1st car.

With my tight cash budget of 175k only, here are my 2 options.

Opt1: 96-97 Corolla GLI, since I've been always fascinated by these cars seeing them on the road aka maporma and knowing parts/service availability.

Opt2: Financing a 600~700k range brand new sedan. Monthy amortization is within my budget too, but on a 2nd thought, this could be well diverted to my home improvement budget if I go for Opt1.

Caveats for Opt1:
    • Can we still find good/well-maintained/casa maitaned cars of this model, given my budget range?
    • Are they still reliable? considering I also do long travel, Manila-Cagayan Valley.
    • How much average spending for casa maintenance per year?
    • Aside from the basic checks, what special considerations/attention I need to check for 96-97 Corolla GLI's, say during dealer inquiry/inspection?
    • Fuel consumption of this model range, are they still good for city driving? (Bahay-Office)

Thanks and hope to hear from you soon. Mods, please merge my thread if this falls on double post.

Ash (Bacoor Cavite)

2. Join Date
    Oct 2002
    The Corolla 1997 is a good option; prioritize expenses for your house as this is a larger investment over a car and you can still buy a newer car later on when the cash flow becomes free again. Whats important is you take your time to buy a well-kept unit. Its not a matter of looking for a good-as-new unit but more of finding one that was maintained properly.

We bought a 1997 Corolla before and despite its high mileage back then (well over 150,000kms), all we had to fix to get it to good condition was the following:
    - Compression test (to make sure its not blow-by)
    - Changed the engine gaskets
    - Changed the Timing belt and bearings
    - Changed all the drive belts