New and Used Car Talk Reviews Hot Cars Comparison Automotive Community

The Largest Car Forum in the Philippines

1. Join Date
    Dec 2005
    the leak is coming from output shaft where the pitman arm is attached. im not running out of power steering fluid in big quantity naman.... i top up around 100ml or more in 6 months duration....i know how to remove it from its location because i have the necessary tools to remove it such as the two jaw puller.... thunder automotive parts in binondo have the repair kit available for the repair... however, im not experienced on how to open up the assembly.... minerva tire gallery in alabang can service my vehicle, however i would like get more recommendation on where i could have it repaired.... as i have noted, i can remove the steering gearbox assembly and just carry it together with the repair kit for repair nalang to save time, fuel and money..... below is a pic of the assembly :

on the left pic, the output shaft is the one with red colored spindle.... on the right pic, the center nut surrounded by the 4 bolts that holds the output shaft is i think the adjusting nut.... i was warned by the dealership not to re-adjust it and have them work on it nalang.... but i dont want to bring it to the dealership because they charge a hefty amount to repair it....

i appreciate your input guys specially those who are into 4x4s or those that have done it already. it may not be on the same vehicle but i think most suvs have the same kind of steering gearbox principle....

thanks guys...

2. Join Date
    May 2006
    how much ho ba they're charging you? pls note that the steering cover seal is not included in the repair kit and you have to buy it separately. have seen many worn pitman shaft kaya sometimes rebuilding it is useless. my advice is look for a shop that know this stuff (torque specs, etc), you missed one ball and other internal parts and you'll end up buying a new steering gear.

3. Join Date
    Dec 2005