New and Used Car Talk Reviews Hot Cars Comparison Automotive Community

The Largest Car Forum in the Philippines

Page 8 of 9 FirstFirst ... 456789 LastLast
  1. Join Date
    Jul 2006
    and i believe that every voter votes with 'the greater good' in mind - the catch is that the voter himself IS the greater good or, more kindly, the greater good is aligned with his interests too.

2. Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Quote Originally Posted by uls View Post
    no, not "destruction of the country"

voters vote with their self interest in mind

if i'm a govt contractor, i will vote for someone who will award me govt projects

how many people make their living as govt contractors?

thousands and thousands of them

if i have a relative or friend running for office, i will vote for that relative or good friend

how may people have relatives or friends running for office?

if i'm a businessman, i will vote for someone who will protect the business sector or industry i'm in

how many businessmen are out there?

i can go on and on

i believe people vote with self interest in mind
    Is having an economically progressive country not part of self-interest? Is agricultural self-sufficiency of the country not part of the self-interest of the farmers? Is having quality and college education not part of the self-interest of every student? This is what you call intersecting interests where the self interest of everyone creates a crossroads to meet thereby becoming universal interest.

3. Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Quote Originally Posted by tabularasa View Post
    Is having an economically progressive country not part of self-interest? Is agricultural self-sufficiency of the country not part of the self-interest of the farmers? Is having quality and college education not part of the self-interest of every student? This is what you call intersecting interests where the self interest of everyone creates a crossroads to meet thereby becoming universal interest.
    yes

Adam Smith: