New and Used Car Talk Reviews Hot Cars Comparison Automotive Community

The Largest Car Forum in the Philippines

1. Join Date
    Aug 2011
    hello,

im newbie here in tsikot. i'm planning to buy the new hilux this year. i felt bad when there was no engine upgrade. instead i'm thinking to buy the ford ranger wildtrak 4x2 na lang...can anyone give me advise, what to buy? hilux or ranger?

thanks,
    cire isaac

2. Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Wait for the release of all new ranger next year. My presumption since Hilux was introduced and released since 2005, the 2011 facelifted model is good for 2-3 years by then there will be all new model of hilux.

3. Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Quote Originally Posted by cireisaac View Post
    hello,

im newbie here in tsikot. i'm planning to buy the new hilux this year. i felt bad when there was no engine upgrade. instead i'm thinking to buy the ford ranger wildtrak 4x2 na lang...can anyone give me advise, what to buy? hilux or ranger?

thanks,
    cire isaac
    Sir, you won't be disappointed with the 3.0-litre Hilux D4-D if this is what you mean.

In comparsion, quite possibly, you will be disappointed with the 2.5-litre Ford Ranger Wildtrak ---- i have driven it couple of times, even the 2.5-litre Everest, and just like any 2.5-litre diesel out there it's not as good as a 3.0-litre diesel CRDi, especially those with VGT's like the Hilux.

The Toyota Hilux, honestly, doesn't need an engine upgrade ---- not that it would be the go-gether factor or not. That engine, or in particular, any 3.0-litre diesel CRDi, is highly adaptable even to cheap mods like any 1st-stage intake mod. With the Hilux, you can gain up to 450 Nm to 470 Nm of wheel torque from a stock wheel torque of 380 Nm (343 Nm by paper spec) with the addition of any diesel EFi tuning kit out there. It can bump power up to 215 hp. The cheapest costs about PhP25k (Racechip Pro from Germany) ---- PhP24k since you're a tsikot member.