New and Used Car Talk Reviews Hot Cars Comparison Automotive Community

The Largest Car Forum in the Philippines

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. Join Date
    Mar 2007
    hi guys...i'm a newbie in this site.....i just bought a new mitsu strada gls m/t and among the available pick ups out there, i think i made the best choice....
    ride is superb, high speed handling is amazing, and there is ample acceleration from the 2.5 Common Rail DiD engine.

I'm a big petrol head and know something about tuning/modifying gasoline engines, but i'm quite new with diesel especially crdi engines. are there available bolt on parts for crdi's in our market ryt now? how about ecu/chip upgrades?

tnks very much! kudos for the very well sorted out site!!!!

2. Join Date
    Sep 2006
    ecu tuning is available - in the US - dunno about its availability here. its something that plugs into your computer box and allows you to modify the performance. diesel tuning has a long way to go.

3. Join Date
    Mar 2007
    i'v been reading some stuff in the internet....found out that Autoplus is already doing diesel mods and tuning....problem is, its quite expensive...

here's a sample:
    http://www.auto-plus.com/lc80.html

hope i can find a cheaper alternative. I'm already thinking of upgrading to a less restricting air filter and exhaust system.

Is ERL doing some diesel tuning of their own?

4. Join Date
    Jan 2003
    modern diesels are the way to go for performance with economy. there are some basic things you can tweak but the biggest bang for the buck for me was remapping. a simple tweaking on injection timing and duration will yield very dramatic results (20+ hp, 50+ nm of torque).