New and Used Car Talk Reviews Hot Cars Comparison Automotive Community

The Largest Car Forum in the Philippines

1. Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Hi! Can anybody give a good review of this car? TIA!

2. Join Date
    Oct 2009
    I bought the Peugeot 308 last February 1 because it's a hatch, which replaced my 2010 Subaru Impreza. It is also the most affordable from among my other choices: Mercedez-Benz A class, Audi A1, Mini 3-door, Subaru Levorg.

I opted for the gasoline engine variant (1.490M) as my daily drive isn't really that far. The model trim is Allure, so I studied the trim options as there are differences in country variants. I put up my spreadsheet comparo again which is a ritual everytime I'm buying a car (except the Subaru XV which I bought, i.e., pre-ordered not even seeing it in person). It wouldn't win the features war with say, a Ford Focus, but it's not that bare either.

When I test drove the unit, it is then that I made the decision to buy.

The engine and transmission

The Subaru Impreza it replaced has a normally aspirated 2L 150hp powerplant. The 308 features a 1.6L turbo-charged engine delivering 163hp (tunable to 250hp) so I'm pretty happy in this area. Driving it is fun and that's half of what matters to me.

Unlike the Impreza which has a manual transmission, the 308 has a six-speed automatic transmission and it's not CVT. It doesn't have paddle shifters like my XV but I don't really use it much. There is a "manual" mode if you like more interaction with the gearbox.

I wish there's snow here as the 308 features a "snow" mode, but I use the "sport" feature when I'm at the expressway.

There is a cruise control and speed limiter so that we can enjoy safe and comfortable driving.

Exterior