New and Used Car Talk Reviews Hot Cars Comparison Automotive Community

The Largest Car Forum in the Philippines

1. Join Date
    Dec 2006
    hello, peeps. i'm hoping you guys can help me out as i'm not very good with the engine starter.

last week, nakaramdam na ako ng senyales na bibigay na ang starter ko. i never doubted that it was the battery's fault (even though more than 2yrs old na) nor the alternator (kasi kita naman na kumakarga sa instrument panel. btw, my engine is a benz 240d.

so last friday i decided to bring the car to rey's auto electrical sa marikina. favorite ko ito pag dating sa auto electrical as they have never ever failed me since i started going to them back in the 90's. true enough, kailangan nang palitan yung carbon brushes, so i let them, and a reface of i forgot what they call it. needless to say, i got out of the shop fast and very happy with the service.

kaninang umaga pinaandar ko ang makina, umandar naman, one click pa. problem was may parang umuungol so i shut off the engine and found na hindi nagdisengage ang starter ko for some reason. so haripas ako ng takbo para kumuha ng tools at tanggalin ang positive terminal sa battery ko.

so tanggal na, problema was pag binabalik ko yung positive terminal e nageengage pa din yun starter at nagshoshort sa terminal. i was dumbfounded and didn't know what to do. nagtroubleshoot ako but i didnt have a clue until i tried turning the ignition to the 'on' position and then putting back the positive terminal. ayun, hindi na nagshort and then one click na ulit! test ako ng test, hindi na nangyari ulit.

anybody have an idea kung ano nangyari? salamat po in advance!

baka yung bendix-drive ay stuck-up na...ung tumutulak sa gear sa loob

3. Join Date
    Jan 2006
    What type of starter does your 240D use?

4. Join Date
    Dec 2006
    yikes, i'm not sure bro. all i know is that its an electric starter. the round black thingy with the solenoid on top.