New and Used Car Talk Reviews Hot Cars Comparison Automotive Community

The Largest Car Forum in the Philippines

Page 1 of 7 12345 ... LastLast
  1. Join Date
    Mar 2008
    hi guys,

newbie here... just want to ask kung ano mas ok engine swap my ga16de to a sr20de or turbo my ga16de? just want to have a little umph on the road... minsan po kasi sinabayan ako nang vtec sa hi way at feeling ko iiwanan nya ako kaya hindi ko na sya sinabayan... how much po kaya gagastusin ko kung sr20de swap gagawin ko compared to having a turbo? thanks for the inputs and God bless

2. Join Date
    Mar 2008
    my car po pala is a b14 series 3 sentra... may IHE na po sya and medyo nahihinaan pa rin po ako sa hatak nya... comparing it to my friend's SIR... hehe

3. Join Date
    Aug 2004
    An SiR versus a B14 Super Touring with an SR20DE with IHE... should be just about even. Versus a GA16DE with a turbo? Depends on the turbo boost. Anywhere between a confirmed kill and "what was that bug I just ran over?" A safe 7 psi of boost should get you about 160-180 hp.

But if you're the tinkering type, an SR20DE gives you more tuning options down the road... An SR20DE with a turbo is a monster of an engine.

And swapping to an SR20DE is cheaper than turboing the GA16DE (if you're turboing it properly, I mean).

Ang pagbalik ng comeback...

4. Join Date
    Oct 2002
    I have done both.

I previously has a B13 with a GA16DE with turbocharger/intercooler upgrade. I also currently have a B14 with a SR20DE swapped to replace the GA16 motor. The SR20DE gives better overall performance and reliability (assuming you got a good condition motor and clean swap).

The SR20 would let you have the same overall power of a GA16DE turbo in factory stock setting. Minor mods including S-AFC and IHE would result in a boost of power from the 140hp stock to around 170hp to 180hp.