New and Used Car Talk Reviews Hot Cars Comparison Automotive Community

The Largest Car Forum in the Philippines

1. Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Hi, I'm an Australian living and working in the Philippines, have a question about the laws on confiscation of license. I've been driving cars here for a few years, yesterday I got myself a motorbike, clocked up a couple of hundred kilometres already - fun times, anyway... I also got pulled over for the very first time today.

My questions if you guys would be so kind as to help me out:

Who is lawfully allowed to confiscate a drivers license?

Are random (non-deputised, non-police, and sometimes non-uniformed) people allowed to take it, or can I refuse to hand it over.

My attorney told me the other day that only the police and certain uniformed people in and around Makati are allowed to do this, though being Australian, I really have no clue on the actual law - this guy is great in his field (immigration) though the law is something that seems to be applied differently by each person out on the streets :-)

Some background: Like I said, I've been driving here for quite a few years now, biking since yesterday, though today I was pulled over for the first time. The reason was a tad obnoxious and fully fabricated by the guy - swerving across lanes while idling along at 5kph locked behind a truck with another at my side - impossible to swerve, let alone be foolish enough to sneak down the middle or sides! Just minding my own business and bam, pull over dude.