New and Used Car Talk Reviews Hot Cars Comparison Automotive Community

The Largest Car Forum in the Philippines

1. Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Hi everyone! i am a newbie here. please help me out with my inquiry.

I am just about to get a Lancer EX GLS 2.0 which we carefully handpicked over the civic 1.8 and the corolla altis - had a 2008 civic and it was great) & just sold our mazda 3, had super major "kalampag" problems (so sad).

handpicked i say because aside from what i have researched (styling exterior and interior is "angas", great ride, fuel efficiency is not bad, speed & handling is great, etc) there seemed to be one lacking point in detail that is a major concern for me and that is its "Durability"........

which generally no one can answer .......Yet! not within another year maybe.

So i made my own specualtion that since all new Lancers come directly from Japan (CKD - complete knockdown), does this fact be a basis that the Lancer just may........just may be a little tougher than .....lets say a corolla or a civic which is a SKD (semi knockdown) from thailand?

(short kwento: i have a friend who drives a "not a lemon" 2002 corolla [a slow driver by the way] and another friend which has a lower model corolla 1999 CKD from japan and the 2002 is nowhere near the pristine condition of the 1999 toyota)

Any insights would be great! Many Thanks!!

2. Join Date
    Jan 2009
    it's really hard to tell without subjecting them to same variables. the durability of a vehicle is very much dependent on the way it is driven and maintained by its owner. there is also the slim chance that you get a lemon unit.

however, IMO, if subjected to the same variables i guess the CKD from Japan wins over the SKD from thailand due to more stringent quality control measures of the former.

3. Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Hindi ba CBU (completely built up)?

CKD (complete knockdown) means the car is assembled locally from CKD "kits"