New and Used Car Talk Reviews Hot Cars Comparison Automotive Community

The Largest Car Forum in the Philippines

View Poll Results: Have you been a victim of "Tyranny of the Weak"?

Voters
53. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes

43 81.13%
  • No

6 11.32%
  • I am a tricycle driver.

3 5.66%
  • I use public transport.

1 1.89%
Page 1 of 8 12345 ... LastLast
  1. Join Date
    Oct 2002
    The following was taken from Philippine Star:

Philstar.com | Latest Philippine news and multimedia

========================================

Tyranny of the Weak
    BACKSEAT DRIVER By James Deakin
    Wednesday, July 4, 2007

Picture this. You are 24 years old and are about to take delivery of your first ever brand new car. You have saved up for more than six years for this, swapping the joy of those trips to Boracay with the barkada, as well as the Friday/Saturday night scene with the boys, all for this one moment. It is the biggest thing to happen in your life so far and is as close as it gets to pacing up and down the hallway outside the delivery room when you’re expecting your first child.

After all, this is not just a car that you have bought; it’s independence. It symbolizes all the hard work and sacrifices you have made over the years and is most likely going to be the second biggest investment you will make in your whole life. You haven’t slept properly in days just dreaming about it, and now you’re about to live that dream. If you could hit the pause button in life, now would be a good time.

You drive out of the dealership. Your face hurts from smiling so much. You’re sitting at the traffic lights running your hand over the dash and every other surface you can touch, just to make sure it is all real and you’re not still dreaming. Then you hear the sickening sound of metal against metal. You glance in your mirrors and see this fast food delivery bike next to you that has just put a deep four inch scratch down the side of your car as he tried to squeeze past.