New and Used Car Talk Reviews Hot Cars Comparison Automotive Community

The Largest Car Forum in the Philippines

1. Join Date
    Jul 2004
    gud day guys,

I need some advice regarding how to buy a secondhand car,
    Im more interested wit the legal conditions; like how do i know the registration is proper and that i will not have any registration problem later. how will i know if the vehicle is not carnapped or aquirred illegally. what and where do I check? should I bring money at first canvass of the unit or comback with payment later? how will go about this things without offending the seller? guys I really need some advice :-( Its my first time to buy a used vehicle. well most people will advice that you buy from person recommended by frends or family but there will come a time that you will have no choice but to deal with total strangers. pls give me some advice and pointers....... thanks and more power!!

sparrow
    Last edited by sparrow; August 20th, 2004 at 05:48 AM.

2. Join Date
    Jun 2004
    we purchased a second hand car last month.
    some answers:
    1. To know if the car is stolen or not you need to get the PNP/TMG Clearance. Check also the original copies of the OR/CR if they have it on hand.
    2. It is good to look into the background of the people selling, like what their job is or even where they live, this can give an idea on how they may handle the car or even if it was stolen.
    (When we purchased our car we had quite good luck, it was in a nearby subdivision and teh owner was a lawyer.)
    3. You may chose to bring money during the viewing but this would amount to around 10% or so of the vehicle cost, this may serve as a reservation for the car. (This is what we did)
    4. Check the car thoroughly! Do a test drive, make sure you do this when the engine is cold to see how it starts also, Check every light, every lock and such (you most likely are already aware of this though)